Advertise Now
  Home > Travel Switzerland > Switzerland Destinations > Diessenhofen


Switzerland, officially the Swiss Confederation, is a landlocked Alpine country in Central Europe. The country, which borders Germany to the north, France to the west, Italy to the south, and Austria and Liechtenstein to the east, was historically a confederation, and has been a federation since 1848. Switzerland is a federation of relatively autonomous cantons, some of which have a history of confederacy that goes back more than 700 years, arguably putting them among the world's oldest surviving republics. With an area of 41,285 square kilometres, Switzerland is a relatively small country. Switzerland comprises three basic topographical areas namely the Swiss Alps, the Swiss plateau, and the Jura Mountains. Switzerland has four official languages namely German, French, Italian and Romansh.
Diessenhofen is a city in the district of Diessenhofen, in the region of Thurgau, Switzerland. Diessenhofen is a city at the high Rhine and principal place of the district of the same name of the canton Thurgau in Switzerland. The small town shows up in its original, medieval structure, which is received until today. In 2005, the population of the city was 3222 and an area of 10 square kilometers.
In the year 2000, the city Willisdorf with Diessenhofen was fused. The landmark Diessenhofen in the center is the seal tower, in which seal and documents were kept. The moon clock and the dial with the astronomical symbols for the twelve Tierkreiszeichen are amazing. Diessenhofen is an attractive city with natural beauty and historical places, while traveling in Switzerland.

Back to Switzerland Destinations