Advertise Now
  Home > Travel Switzerland > Switzerland Destinations > Willisau


Switzerland, officially the Swiss Confederation, is a landlocked Alpine country in Central Europe. The country, which borders Germany to the north, France to the west, Italy to the south, and Austria and Liechtenstein to the east, was historically a confederation, and has been a federation since 1848. Switzerland is a federation of relatively autonomous cantons, some of which have a history of confederacy that goes back more than 700 years, arguably putting them among the world's oldest surviving republics. With an area of 41,285 square kilometres, Switzerland is a relatively small country. Switzerland comprises three basic topographical areas namely the Swiss Alps, the Swiss plateau, and the Jura mountains. Switzerland has four official languages namely German, French, Italian and Romansh.
Willisau is a municipality and the district capital of the district of Willisau, in the canton of Lucerne, Switzerland. It was formed on 1st January 2006 out of the union of the previously separate municipalities of Willisau Country and Willisau City. Willisau city has an area of 41.69 kilometers, and population was 7,129  in 2004.
Willisau is also known as the town of best geographical environment and has traced its origins back to prehistoric times. Today, one can also learn about its history, from its earliest times and can also enjoy its natural beauty concealed by the beautiful landscapes.

Back to Switzerland Destinations