Advertise Now
  Home > Travel Switzerland > Switzerland Destinations > Aarberg


Switzerland, officially the Swiss Confederation, is a landlocked Alpine country in Central Europe. The country, which borders Germany to the north, France to the west, Italy to the south, and Austria and Liechtenstein to the east, was historically a confederation, and has been a federation since 1848. Switzerland is a federation of relatively autonomous cantons, some of which have a history of confederacy that goes back more than seven hundred years, arguably putting them among the world's oldest surviving republics. With an area of forty one thousand two hundred and eighty five square kilometers, Switzerland is a relatively small country. Switzerland comprises three basic topographical areas namely the Swiss Alps, the Swiss plateau, and the Jura Mountains. Switzerland has four official languages namely German, French, Italian and Romansh.
Aarberg is a municipality in Switzerland in the northeast of the country, in the canton of Berne. Aarberg lies 20 kilometers from Berne above the Aar River. With an area of 7.93 square kilometers, Aarberg borders Bargen, Kappelen, Lyss, Radelfingen and Seedorf. Aarberg is often confused with Aarburg in Aargau or with Aarbergen in Germany. The city was founded in 1220 by count Ulrich III of Neuchatel. It has a population of four thousand and twenty six as of January 2005 and has total surface area of 7.93 square kilometers.
A city known for its historic myths and traditions, scenic beauty, luxurious hotels and cottages, Aarberg is one of the favorite holiday destinations for most of the vacation lovers.

Back to Switzerland Destinations